Latinx Caucus



2023 Fall Plenary Session Caucus Meeting Information Coming Soon!

Latinx Caucus Statement of Purpose

According to the Tomas Rivera Policy Institute Chicano/Latino students represent nearly half of the potential college population in California; related to this, Latinx students represent the largest percentage of ethnically diverse students (43%) enrolled in the California community colleges.  Yet Latinx students face serious challenges to access, entry, and effectively moving through the community college experience.

The ASCCC Latinx Caucus will address the concerns related to Latinx student access, entry, and success in California Community Colleges by studying issues and actively engaging in advocacy within the ASCCC to address the challenges to Latinx student success.  In this regard, the Latinx Caucus will propose and lead workshops at ASCCC Plenaries, as well as other ASCCC-sponsored conferences, to address such issues as increasing the proportion of Latinx tenured and adjunct faculty in the California Community Colleges, increasing the numbers of Latinx faculty who assume leadership positions within local and state Senate activities, supporting DACA and immigrant students’ access, entry, and success into the California Community Colleges, and generally addressing the wide range of challenges that face Latinx students in our community college system.  Along with the latter, the Latinx Caucus will serve as a support group for new and continuing Latinx Senate members to develop their competence and success as Senate leaders.  The Latinx Caucus will also be a welcoming group to any member of the ASCCC who wants to join in efforts to address the concerns of the Latinx community of educators within the California Community College System.

Finally, the Latinx Caucus will serve to advise the ASCCC membership on how various initiatives will impact Latinx students.


Co-Chairs: Edgar Perez, Los Angeles Valley College | Dr. Erica Menchaca, Bakersfield College

Secretary: Chris CruzBoone, Bakersfield College


Mario Rivas, Merritt College, Psychology, Senate President, Peralta Community College District
Karen Chow De Anza College, English and Asian American Studies, Senate President
Lina Soto,  Counselor, Mt. San Antonio College Senate Vice President
Cleavon Smith, Berkeley City College
Mandy Liang, City College of San Francisco, Counseling, Senate President
Jesus Covarrubias, San Jose City College, Senate President
Chris Frazier, San Jose City College,  Math
Phil Crawford, San Jose City College
Dennis Meakin, San Jose City College
Carlos Chavez, San Jose City College
Michael Berke, San Jose City College
Jose Cabrera, San Jose City College
Eric Narveson, Evergreen Valley College, Senate President
Nicolas Fraire,  San Jose City College
Justin Akers Chacon, San Diego City College, Senate President
Jeffrey Hernandez, East Los Angeles College, Political Science
Amy Díaz-Infante, San Francisco City College
Olga Shewfelt, West Los Angeles College
Cesar Lopez, San Diego Mesa College
Frank Espinoza, Evergreen Valley College
Eli Barbosa, Ohlone College
Jacqueline Gamboa, San Jose City College
Juan Gamboa, San Jose City College
Carlos Guerrero, LA City College
Juana Mora, Rio Hondo College
Paul Alexander, San Diego City College
Dr. Luke Lara, MiraCosta College
Maria Figueroa, MiraCosta College
Michelle Velazquez Bean, Rio Hondo College
Mayra Cruz, DeAnza College (retired)
Efren Rangel, Saddleback College