LEADERSHIP. EMPOWERMENT. VOICE.

President

John Stanskas San Bernardino Valley College

Vice President Dolores Davison Foothill College

Secretary

Cheryl Aschenbach Lassen College

Treasurer

Virginia "Ginni" May Sacramento City College

Area A Representative

Geoffrey Dyer Taft College

Area B Representative

Mayra Cruz DeAnza College

Area C Representative Michelle Bean Rio Hondo College

Area D Representative LaTonya Parker Moreno Valley College

North Representative Carrie Roberson Butte College

North Representative Stephanie Curry Reedley College

South Representative Sam Foster Fullerton College

South Representative Anna Bruzzese Los Angeles Pierce College

Representative at Large Silvester Henderson Los Medanos College

Representative at Large Nathaniel Donahue Santa Monica College

Executive Director Krystinne Mica September 11, 2019

Honorable Governor Newsom 1303 10th Street, Suite 1173 Sacramento, CA 95814

Honorable Toni Atkins California State Capitol State Capitol, Room 205 Sacramento, CA 95814

Honorable Anthony Rendon California State Capitol State Capitol, Room 219 Sacramento, CA 95814

Subject: AB1658 (Carrillo) Teacher credentialing: adult education: workgroup (as of

09/09/19)

Position: Oppose

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) is writing to express its reluctant opposition to AB1658 (Carrillo, as of 09/09/19). AB 1658 would require the Commission on Teacher Credentialing to convene a workgroup to study issues relating to adult education teacher credentialing and to submit a report on its findings and recommendations to the legislature.

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges recognizes the need to convene stakeholders around issues related to adult education teacher credentialing, and we are appreciative that AB1658 acknowledges that community college faculty, as experts in minimum qualifications, are a necessary part of any convening.

However, we are concerned about multiple aspects of the bill and therefore are required to oppose it as written. First, the K12 system and California Community Colleges system are structurally different. The request for a bargaining unit appointment from the K12 system is completely appropriate but not so in the realm of higher education. In the higher education realm of the community colleges, the ASCCC is the body responsible for the creation of minimum qualifications for all faculty positions in the California Community College system; while the bill requires that the workgroup include two adult education faculty members and an "expert in community college minimum qualifications" (which, logically, would be another faculty member), the absence of any mention of the Academic Senate in that or any other context, including faculty appointments, is problematic.

Second, we are concerned that the current composition of the workgroup is disproportionate in favor of our K-12 partners and that this lack of balance could have unforeseen consequences that might compromise the ability of both systems to reach a consensus regarding the best interest of all students.

Finally, the California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office, the body responsible for enforcement of regulations, including minimum qualifications, within our system, is not

September 11, 2019 AB1658 (Carrillo) Teacher credentialing: adult education: workgroup (as of 09/09/19) Position: Oppose Page Two

mentioned in the legislation as having any role within this workgroup. The ASCCC works closely with the Chancellor's Office regarding minimum qualifications in the community college system.

The ASCCC has worked with the Chancellor's Office to offer amendments and suggestions to ameliorate our concerns, none of which have been accepted. As such, we must reluctantly take an oppose position to AB1658.

We would welcome the opportunity to engage in continued dialog with the author regarding the wording of AB1658. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.

Respectfully,

John Stanskas, President

Cc: Assemblymember Wendy Carrillo

Chancellor Eloy Ortiz Oakley, California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office

Vice Chancellor of Government Relations Laura Metune, California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office

Chris Ferguson, Department of Finance Maritza Urquiza, Department of Finance