President

John Stanskas San Bernardino Valley College

Vice President Dolores Davison Foothill College

Secretary

Cheryl Aschenbach Lassen College

Treasurer

Virginia "Ginni" May Sacramento City College

Area A Representative Geoffrey Dyer Taft College

Area B Representative Mayra Cruz DeAnza College

Area C Representative Michelle Bean Rio Hondo College

Area D Representative LaTonya Parker Moreno Valley College

North Representative Carrie Roberson Butte College

North Representative Stephanie Curry Reedley College

South Representative Sam Foster Fullerton College

South Representative Anna Bruzzese Los Angeles Pierce College

Representative at Large Silvester Henderson Los Medanos College

Representative at Large Nathaniel Donahue Santa Monica College

Executive Director Krystinne Mica June 19, 2019

The Honorable Henry Stern State Capitol, Room 5080 Sacramento, CA 95814

Subject: SB462 (Stern) Community colleges: Forestland Restoration Workforce

Program (as of 13 June 2019) Position: Removal of Opposition

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) is writing to express its removal of opposition to SB462 (Stern, as of 06/13/19). SB462 would require the Chancellor's Office of the California Community Colleges, working in collaboration with the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges, to establish a model curriculum for a forestland restoration workforce program with specific curricular requirements that could be offered at campuses of the California Community Colleges.

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges recognizes that many of our communities have suffered devastating losses due to the wildfires that have plagued our state over the last several years, and we express sincere empathy for the victims and our admiration to Senator Stern for his efforts to identify an amelioration plan for California. We also appreciate that SB462 recognizes the role of the Academic Senate in the development of model curriculum.

Due to the author's willingness to amend SB462 (Stern, as of 12 June 2019,) the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges removes its opposition to the bill and thanks the author and his staff for their work on this bill.

Respectfully,

John Stanskas President

Cc: Honorable Anthony Rendon

Honorable Jose Medina

Chris Ferguson, Department of Finance

Mónica Henestroza, Office of Speaker Rendon

Ian Johnson, Principal Consultant, Senate Education Committee

Laura Metune, Vice Chancellor of Governmental Relations

Olgalilia Ramirez, Consultant, Senate Education Committee

Jeanice Warden-Washington, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Higher Education