President

John Stanskas San Bernardino Valley College

Vice President Dolores Davison Foothill College

Secretary

Cheryl Aschenbach Lassen College

Treasurer

Virginia "Ginni" May Sacramento City College

Area A Representative Geoffrey Dyer Taft College

Area B Representative Mayra Cruz DeAnza College

Area C Representative Michelle Bean Rio Hondo College

Area D Representative LaTonya Parker Moreno Valley College

North Representative Carrie Roberson Butte College

North Representative Stephanie Curry Reedley College

South Representative Sam Foster Fullerton College

South Representative Anna Bruzzese Los Angeles Pierce College

Representative at Large Silvester Henderson Los Medanos College

Representative at Large Nathaniel Donahue Santa Monica College

Executive Director Krystinne Mica June 17, 2019

The Honorable Evan Low State Capitol, Room 4126 Sacramento, CA. 94249

Subject: AB 130 (Low, as of 3 June 2019) Postsecondary Education: Office of Higher

Education Performance and Accountability

Position: Support

Dear Assemblymember Low:

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges is writing to express our support for AB 130 (Low, as of 3 June 2019), which would "establish the Office of Higher Education Performance and Accountability as the statewide postsecondary education coordination and planning entity," as well as our gratitude for the amendments added to the bill in June.

The Academic Senate would welcome a replacement for the California Postsecondary Education Commission (CPEC), which performed a significant role in providing data and coordination for higher education in California. CPEC was an asset to the state and has been missed since it was defunded by the governor in 2011.

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges' gratitude regarding the changes made to the bill comes due to the amendment that allows for the inclusion of faculty representatives from each of the three segments of public higher education and for the provision that those representatives will be chosen by the governor from a list compiled by the segments' respective academic senates. The ASCCC had taken a position of oppose unless amended to include a faculty representative from each of the segments and appointed by the respective academic senates; this position represents the collective judgment of the 60,000 faculty in the California Community Colleges system as expressed at our organization's 2019 Spring Plenary Session through Resolution 6.01 SP19 (https://asccc.org/resolutions/oppose-ab-130-low-april-10-2019-unless-amended). With the amendments promulgated by your office, the Academic Senate can take a full support position. We wish to express our appreciation in particular to Cassandra Mancini, who met with us multiple times to discuss the bill and hear our concerns.

For these reasons, the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges expresses its support for Assembly Bill 130 (Low, as of 3 June 2019), and its gratitude to the author for his willingness to include faculty on the advisory board. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.

Respectfully,

John Stanskas President Cc: Assemblymember Susan Eggman

Hon. Jose Medina, Chair, and Assembly Committee on Higher Education

Hon. Steven Choi, Assembly Committee on Higher Education, Vice Chair

Jeanice Warden-Washington, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Higher Education

Hon. Ben Allen

Lizette Navarette, Community College League of California

Evan Hawkins, FACCC

Laura Metune, Vice Chancellor for Governmental Relations for the California Community Colleges

Robert May, Chair, UC Academic Senate

Catherine Nelson, Chair, CSU Academic Senate